Elderbridge Agency on Aging

Nominating/Governance Committee Meeting Minutes Monday, March 29, 2021, 9:00 a.m. Conference Call

0.0 Call to Order

Chair Larry Pedley called the meeting order at 9:04 a.m.

0.1 Role Call

Larry Pedley	Ph	Tracy Quinones	Ex
Ron Newsum	Ex	Lori Hain	Ph
Steve Kruse	Ph		

Ex Officio:	Beth Will, ex officio	Ph
Staff:	Shelly Sindt, CEO	Ph
	Amy B. Simpson, Executive Asst.	Ph

0.2 Items Added to the Agenda by Committee Members and Staff Item 1.4 Discussion of Loren Ehrich Application for vacant Board position.

0.3 Adoption of the Agenda

It was moved by Steve Kruse and seconded by Lori Hain that the agenda be adopted.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)

1.0 <u>Committee Affairs</u>

1.1 Approval of the February 8, 2021, Meeting Minutes

Chair Pedley called for a motion to approve the February 8, 2021, minutes. It was moved by Lori Hain and seconded by Steve Kruse that the February 8, 2021, minutes be approved.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)

1.2 Discussion and approval of Board applications of Jill Hawkinson and Ethan Huizenga, Advisory Council applications of Rick Burke, Winnebago County, Becky Koppen, Hamilton County, Elaine Kelsey, Franklin County, and Lisa Rockhill, Lyon County, Carol DeSchepper, Dickinson County

Chair Pedley called for discussion on the applications. CEO Sindt stated that Jill Hawkinson's application was recommended by Tim Nichols. She will be replacing him as the Executive Director of the Family Resource Center in Carroll. Ethan Huizenga who currently is on the Board submitted his application for his first term. The five applications for the Advisory Council are representatives that are currently serving on the Advisory Council and are renewing their terms.

It was moved by Steve Kruse and seconded by Lori Hain to recommend Jill Hawkinson for the Board and Eithan Huizenga to serve a second term on the Board.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)

It was moved by Lori Hain and seconded by Steve Kruse to recommend all the Advisory Council applications for renewal.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)

1.3 Discussion and recommendation for Board slate of officers for the Fiscal Year 2021-2022

After a brief discussion, it was recommended that Beth Will serves as President, Lionel Foster, Vice President, Larry Pedley, Treasurer, and Lori Hain as Secretary. Other Board members can still put their names forth if they want to serve as an officer. The new officers will be seated at the Annual Board Meeting in July.

It was moved by Lori Hain and seconded by Steve Kruse to recommend Beth Will, President, Lionel Foster, Vice President, Larry Pedley, Treasurer, and Lori Hain as officers.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)

1.4 Loren Ehrich application for a vacant Board position

CEO Sindt stated that Loren Ehrich originally applied to Advisory Council for Winnebago County. Winnebago County currently has an active representative. He is an active member of the Forest City community and has been the Mayor of Lakota. CEO Sindt recommended that he be considered for the Board.

It was moved by Steve Kruse and seconded by Lori Hain to have Loren Ehrich apply for the Board and to have him attend the next Governance Committee meeting.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)

2.0 Adjournment

There being no further business before the Governance Committee, it was moved by Larry Pedley and seconded by Lori Hain that the meeting be adjourned at 9:22 a.m.

Aye: all (the motion was declared carried.)